Transport for London (TfL), a functional body of the Greater London Authority (GLA), is responsible for the Capital's transport system.  This includes London's buses, the Underground, the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) and the management of Croydon Tramlink and London River Services, but excludes National Rail services.

The Oyster card scheme is the preferred and most cost effective method of paying for travel on TfL services.  East Croydon rail station is within Travelcard Zone 5, but all Tramlink stops are within Travelcard Zone 4.

London buses no longer accept cash payments for any journeys and all adult passengers must use an Oystercard or contactless debit/credit card.


The local road network and infrastructure provides good access to and from the area with the choice of using public and private transport.